Agribusiness Council members appointed

Agriculture Minister Michael O’Brien has announced the members of the state’s inaugural Agribusiness Council.

Mr O’Brien said the council will act as a high-level conduit between government and industry to ensure the sustainable growth of South Australian agriculture.

Primary production, food manufacturing and the various agribusiness support sectors are pivotal to our economy, with the state’s gross food revenue contributing an estimated $12.4 billion last financial year, he said.

Predictions of a 70 percent increase in global demand for food by 2050 present an opportunity for our food industry to increase the supply to our interstate and international markets.

Mr O’Brien said establishment of the Agribusiness Council follows a review of industry development boards and the Premier’s Food Council last year.

Utilising the expertise, networks and advice of industry representatives will not only improve strategic discussion, but also identify further domestic and international opportunities, he said.

It will assist in ensuring the sustainable economic development of this state.

Mr O’Brien said the high calibre of members represented a vote of confidence in the state’s agribusiness sector.

I’m delighted that some of South Australia’s leading rural business and industry leaders have come forward to serve on the council, he said.

The council will hold its first meeting at Parliament House in early September.

Issues that I will be seeking early advice on include live animal exports and the grains industry levy, also how South Australia can interact with the Federal Government’s national food plan.

The members are:

  • Catherine Barnett: Chief executive of Food SA;
  • Mike Brooks: Deputy vice-chancellor of research, University of Adelaide;
  • Glenn Cooper: Chairman and marketing director of Coopers;
  • Rob Gordon: President South East Asia of Viterra;
  • Malcolm Jackman: CEO of Elders;
  • Rob Kerin: Consultant and former Premier;
  • Peter Michell: Managing director of Michell Wool;
  • Richard Murdoch: Chairman, Advisory Board for Agriculture;
  • Malcolm Pridham: State manager of NAB Agribusiness;
  • Louise Rose: Chair of South Australian Wine Industry Council;
  • Darren Thomas: Chief executive of T&R Pastoral;
  • Simon Venus: Partner in law firm Piper Alderman;
  • Carol Vincent: CEO of South Australian Farmers Federation.
This entry was posted in Industry News on Thursday, July 7th, 2011

Comments are closed.